COVID-19, Religion and Belief: Canada, United States and United Kingdom Perspectives

0
160

On July 2, 2020, the European Union office of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, along with additional sponsoring institutions as listed below, will host episode 13 of the COVID-19 Religion and Belief series. Government representatives from Canada, the United Kingdom and the United States will look at the individual and collective experiences and contributions of governments, civil society and religious and secular actors to address the pandemic. Registration is free at the link below.

The July 2 panel will be chaired by Dr. Pasquale Annicchino of the Bruno Kessler Foundation and the Cambridge Institute on Religious and International Studies. Panel participants are:

  • Rita French, U.K. Deputy Permanent Representative to the U.N., Geneva, and International Ambassador for Human Rights
  • Nadine Maenza, Vice Chair, U.S. Commission on International Religious Freedom
  • Tamara Mawhinney, Canada Deputy Permanent Representative to the U.N., Geneva

Mawhinney will offer a Canadian perspective, from an international policy point of view, and will address how the pandemic has affected Canadian society and religious freedom.

Date: July 2, 2020

Time (Canada): NDT: 10:30 a.m.; ADT: 10 a.m.; EDT: 9 a.m.; MDT: 7 a.m.; PDT: 6 a.m.

Free Registration: https://churchofjesuschrist.zoom.us/webinar/register/1315868006993/WN_0CCEqerGS1OhL3RTN_GgOA

Hosts and Sponsoring Institutions

  • Dr. Pasquale Annicchino, Center for Religious Studies at Bruno Kessler Foundation, Cambridge Institute on Religion and International Studies
  • Dr. Judd Birdsall, Cambridge Institute on Religion and International Studies
  • Francesco Di Lillo, European Union office of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
  • Prof. Michael Freitas Mohallem, Center for Justice and Society at Fundação Getulio Vargas Law School, Rio de Janeiro
  • Prof. Brett Scharffs, International Center for Law and Religion Studies at Brigham Young University Law School
  • Prof. Marco Ventura, Center for Religious Studies at Bruno Kessler Foundation, University of Siena Department of Law

Style Guide Note:When reporting about The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, please use the complete name of the Church in the first reference. For more information on the use of the name of the Church, go to our online Style Guide.


Los artículos de esta sección no son oficiales pero han sido tomados de una fuente confiable y acreditada. La traducción es automática y puede dejar mucho que desear, sin embargo, a pesar de estas deficiencias, se ha realizado un esfuerzo para poner la información al alcance del público de habla hispana. Para ver el artículo completo original en inglés, consulta la siguiente Fuente: http://news-ca.churchofjesuschrist.org/article/covid-19-religion-and-belief-canada-united-states-and-united-kingdom-perspectives

Dejar respuesta

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here